Autism Awareness cutest moment of life.

I have the wonderful opportunity of doing a co-op in a special education class. I am there all morning and work with a bunch of different kids. For anybody who doesn’t know I spend a great deal of my time working with children, youth and adults with special needs. I have found I have a passion for working with these people. Anyways so my co-op school is doing an Autism Awareness fundraiser (April is Autism awareness month) and we are raising money for organizations affiliated with Autism awareness/research (possibly Autism speaks but I’m not sure). So I work with this one little boy who has Autism but is pretty high functioning and fully integrated. One day the two of us were talking and he says: “I need to go speak to the principal!” I asked him why and he said: “I want to raise money for the Autism kids!” I told him that was awesome and I asked him how he was going to do that. He said: “I am going to sell fudge for two quarters at the gym doors and give all the money to the Autism kids!”. Then he asked me if he could go to the Autism class (that’s what he class the special education class) and tell the teacher.

This kid brightened my day so much. He is so amazing and says the greatest things. He was so proud of himself for coming up with that idea. This kid proves to me why I love working with kids with special needs. He inspires me, I wish more people looked at the world the way he does.  🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Autism Awareness cutest moment of life.

  1. Steve April 19, 2011 at 2:30 am Reply

    Very cool story! Sounds like a fun time! 🙂

    • Stanfast12 April 19, 2011 at 5:42 pm Reply

      Thanks Stevio!

  2. Susan April 19, 2011 at 2:54 am Reply

    Now there’s a good reason to visit the principal. I’ll buy some of that fudge!

    • Stanfast12 April 19, 2011 at 11:00 am Reply

      I thought so too!

Leave a Reply

