Wretches and Jabberers. A MUST see documentary.

So, I’ve been meaning to watch Wretches and Jabberers for some time now. Finally got around to it today and I must say, I am not impressed with myself for not doing it until now! I am going to go out on a limb here are say that it is, single handedly, THE best documentary I have seen (and as many of you know, I’m a sucker for a good documentary- really the only movies I watch) as well as being THE best Special Needs movie I’ve seen (and let me tell you, I have seen a lot of those). This is a beautifully well done documentary.

Wretches and Jabberers follow Tracy and Larry (two men with Autism) and their two support workers, Harvey and Pascal, as they travel to different countries and advocate for people with Different Abilities. Tracy and Larry were both non-communicative until adulthood when they both learned to type as a form of communication. This opened amazing doors for them and for everyone else as they were now able to see the extreme intelligence and awareness that was trapped in their minds. Tracy and Larry are amazing advocates who fight for what is right. I think the best part of this documentary is that they show both sides of Autism, the ups and the downs. I think that is a very vital aspect in any documentary about any Different Ability. I truly do not have the words to explain how uplifting and view-changing this documentary is. Every single person on this planet needs to see this documentary. Take the hour and a half to watch it, it is well worth it.

When Tracy was asked the purpose of his travelling the world and advocating he responded with: “To move peoples knowledge of disability to a better place”. 

Amazing, amazing, amazing,amazing, amazing, AMAZING film. If I was able to offer you one piece of advice, it would be to watch this film. Go forth and let your mind be opened, shaped and changed. Listen to inspiring words Tracy and Larry have to offer. It’s available on iTunes to rent or to buy. I’m sure you can get it on Amazon too.

More information about the film: http://www.wretchesandjabberers.org/index.php

Have I mentioned this documentary is absolutely amazing? If not, IT IS!

“We are the perfect example of intelligence working itself out in a much different way” – Tracy Thresher <— could it get any better?!

check them out on Facebook here: http://www.facebook.com/WretchesandJabberers

listen to one of the beautiful songs from the soundtrack here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xulf4Av3zk  (if nothing I’ve said about the film has made you want to watch it yet, this song should. It’s amazing and makes such an impact. B-e-a-u-tiful song.)

And I will leave you with this image from the Wretches and Jabberers Facebook page of Tracy and Larry standing with some truly inspiring and wonderful words.

Image

This is a photo from the Wretches and Jabberers Facebook Page of Tracy and Larry.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

