The Power of Play- A local Accessible Playground

It’s been a really long time since I’ve done an Accessible Playground! Today I’m going to talk about Stait Park, a brand new accessible playground in my community! For those of you who have been here for a while, you’ll have heard all about this playground and it’s history.. for those of you who are new here, you can read about all of that here:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Power-of-Play-Fergus/295596937215071

Anyway, the playground opened a few months ago (actually while I was at camp) and I’ve been able to spend some time there. I’m honestly so impressed with how the playground turned out. It’s amazing. So much better than I ever could’ve hoped. It’s impressive.

The amount of thought and work that went into this playground is extremely obvious.

Small slides

Small slides

Tunnel- Awesome for a quick sensory break

Tunnel- Awesome for a quick sensory break

More Braille!

More Braille!

One of those twisty spin chairs- super fun!

One of those twisty spin chairs- super fun!

Jake trying out the rope ladder

Jake trying out the rope ladder

Braille Board!

Braille Board!

The bigger part of the playground

The bigger part of the playground

This is one of my favourite features.

This is one of my favourite features.

TOTALLY accessible!

TOTALLY accessible!

Jake trying out the Pirate Ship Rocker

Jake trying out the Pirate Ship Rocker

Jake practicing his sign.

Jake practicing his sign.

Also, note the rubber ground as opposed to gravel. This stuff is super. Makes pushing wheelchairs so much easier and makes falls hurt a lot less. It’s also super bouncy.

Picture Symbol Board!

Picture Symbol Board!

Sign Language Board

Sign Language Board

This playground is totally amazing. I have some more pictures of the full park but I can’t find them right now. I’ll update this post with them once I find them! I would highly recommend checking out this playground if you’re in Centre Wellington! It’s located on the corner of Garafraxa St W and Provost St.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

